# **Virginia Racing Commission**

## **MINUTES**

#### OF THE

### **COMMISSION MEETING**

**Wednesday, December 16, 2020, 11 am – 2pm (EST)** 

Registration: <a href="https://tinyurl.com/y6zcf82r">https://tinyurl.com/y6zcf82r</a>
Phone number: 866-692-4530
Event code: 178 319 2697

In Attendance Virtually Commission Members:

D.G. Van Clief, Jr., Chairman Stuart Siegel, Vice Chairman J. Sargeant Reynolds, Jr. Marsha K. Hudgins Stephanie B. Nixon

## Commission Staff:

David S. Lermond, Jr., Executive Secretary Kimberly C. Mackey, Business Manager Dr. Ada Caruthers, Equine Medical Director Rhonda Davis, Director of Pari-Mutuels and Licensing

Attorney General's Office:
Elizabeth B. Myers, Esquire

At 11:18 a.m., Chairman Van Clief called the virtual monthly meeting of the Virginia Racing Commission (VRC) to order.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on September 17, 2020. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Chairman Van Clief moved to approve the Significant Infrastructure Limited License application submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC, which included Thoroughbred race days for 2021 with the conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Commissioner Reynolds moved to approve the License applications submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC to Conduct Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Historical Horse Racing at Rosie's – New Kent, Rosie's – Richmond, Rosie's – Vinton, Rosie's – Hampton, and Rosie's – Dumfries for 2021 with the conditions set forth in the staff reports. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Commissioner Hudgins moved to approve the 2021 Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW) renewal license applications submitted by Twinspires, TVG, Xpressbet, and NYRAbets. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Commissioner Reynolds moved to approve the VEA operating budget for 2021. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Siegel and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Commissioner Nixon moved to approve the VTA breeders fund administration budget for 2021. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Chairman Van Clief moved to approve Breeder Awards in the amount of \$950,000 and Stallion Awards in the amount of \$50,000 from the Thoroughbred portion of the Virginia Breeders Fund related to 2020. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Reynolds and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to grant an extension until January 31, 2021 and authorize the Executive Secretary to issue an approval on behalf of the Commission for the Horsemen's Agreement between Colonial Downs Group, LLC and the VHBPA. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

Commissioner Reynolds moved to approve the VHHA breeders fund administration budget for 2021. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Siegel and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.

With no further business set forth on the agenda, Commissioner Reynolds moved to adjourn the virtual meeting at 12:44 p.m. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Siegel and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Reynolds, aye; Chairman Van Clief, aye.